New titles for kids and teens

Diary of a Wimpy Kid #14: Wrecking Ball (Coming in November)In the latest Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Greg’s family receives a surprise inheritance and starts to make changes to their house. Unfortunately, a lot of problems pop up. Is it worth all of the trouble? Even more importantly, is there something more sinister going on that will cause them to move away completely?

Keeper of the Lost Cities #8: Legacy (Coming in November)After honing her strengths and learning to fight in the seventh book in the series, Flashback, we find telepath Sophie Foster seeking answers and struggling to recover lost memories as she and her friends learn new things about each other. They must take on the responsibilities this knowledge brings, and discern their friends from their enemies.

Dog Man #8: Fetch-22 by Dav Pilkey (Coming in December)Dog Man is one of the most popular series in the library’s Chapter Book collection, appealing to readers with its themes of kindness and courage. Recently released from jail, Petey the Cat has a new lease on life while Li’l Petey struggles to see the good in the world. Can Petey and Dog Man over their differences long enough to work as a team and help Li’l Petey and the entire world?

Children of Virtue and Vengeance (#2 in the Legacy of Orïsha trilogy) by Tomi Adeyemi (Coming in December) Fans of J.K. Rowling and Nnedi Okorafor will enjoy this sequel to Children of Blood and Bone, Adeyemi’s fantasy book set in West Africa. In an Orïsha where the powers of the supernaturally-gifted maji as well as the nobles with magic ancestry have been reignited, Zélie must secure Amari’s right to the throne and protect the new maji from the monarchy’s wrath, bringing their kingdom together before a civil war tears it apart.

Lots of new books in!

Sorry it’s been awhile since my last post; we weren’t getting a lot of new books for a short period of time.  The good news is that we now have a lot of new ones to tell you about!

Let’s start with new titles by your favorite suspense and thriller authors: Lee Child (Blue Moon), Stephen Chbosky (Imaginary Friend), Michael Connelly (Night Fire),  John Connolly (A Book of Bones), Stephen Coonts (The Russia Account), Patricia Cornwell (Quantum), Deborah Crombie (A Bitter Feast ), Nelson DeMille (The Deserter), Vince Flynn (Lethal Agent), Lisa Gardner (Never Tell), Tess Gerritson (The Shape of Night), Heather Graham (The Stalking), John Grisham (The Guardians),  Susan Isaacs (Takes One to Know One),  J. A. Jance (Sins of the Fathers), John Le Carre (Agent Running in the Field), John Sandford (Bloody Genius), Wilbur Smith (Ghost Fire), and Stuart Woods (Stealth).  In the pure mystery genre, Alexander McCall Smith has published the latest installment of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, To the Land of Long Lost Friends.

There are some pretty exciting titles in the romance genre: No Judgments by Meg Cabot, Hart’s Hollow Farm by Janet Dailey, Met Her Match by Jude Deveraux, What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand, Meant to be Yours by Susan Mallery, and Child’s Play by Danielle Steel.

Memoirs and biographies are hot this Fall, with several Hollywood stars, musicians, and various interesting people being featured.  Musical biographies/memoirs include The Beautiful Ones by Prince (based on the writings he left behind), My Name Is Prince by Randee St. Nicholas, Face It: A Memoir by Debbie Harry (I’m excited about this one!), and Wham! George Michael and Me by the other half of Wham, Andrew Ridgeley.  Really exciting is Me: Elton John, penned by Elton John himself. This will be an interesting read!  Janis: Her Life and Music, written by Holly George-Warren, should be good.  Holly George-Warren has written numerous books about music, serves as a consultant at several music-themed museums, and teaches musical journalism.  This book will appeal to anyone, whether or not they are Janis Joplin fans, as George-Warren will talk about the social aspects and the history behind the music.  On the Hollywood side, Julie Andrews has written a follow up to her previous book called Home.  This one is titled Home Work: A Memoir of my Hollywood Years, and it picks up after Andrews moved into films from stage work.  Demi Moore’s memoir is getting a lot of media attention.  It is titled Inside Out: A Memoir, and it is a tear-jerker.  Hollywood historian William J. Mann has turned his attention to Marlon Brando with The Contender: The Story of Marlon Brando.

Dogs are getting a fair amount of attention in the book world.  Dog is Love: Why and How Your Dog Loves You, by dog behaviorist and researcher Clive D. L. Wynne, PhD, offers scientific insight into just how much capacity dogs have for affection.  Our Dogs, Ourselves: The Story of a Singular Bond by Alexandra Horowitz, explores the human-dog relationship from a social and historical point of view.  My favorite dog book this season is Rescue Dogs: Where They Come From, Why They Act the Way They Do, and How to Love Them Well by Pete Paxton.  Pete Paxton is an alias for an undercover investigator into puppy mills.  This book offers in-depth insight into rescue dogs, and the conditions from which they are often rescued.

All of these books are either on the shelf or coming in soon, so you can place requests for all of them now.  Next week’s post will be about our new book club sets, so stay tuned!

New series additions for kids

Zoe, our Youth Services Librarian, is still out for maternity leave, but she has provided us with information about some new installments in popular series and an illustrated version of a Harry Potter title!

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: The Illustrated Edition by J. K. Rowling (Coming in October).  Harry Potter fans have loved the beautifully illustrated versions of the first three books in this ever-popular series. The library is adding the fourth installment to our collection this fall.

Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #3: Hidden Kingdom by Tui T. Sutherland (Coming in October).  The graphic novel version of the popular Wings of Fire series, which follows young dragons in their quests to fulfill prophecies, has been a hit with fans of the original books. In this third book, dragon Glory will do whatever it takes to find the RainWings that have gone missing from their forest, even if it means that she and the dragonets end up involved in a war.

Dork Diaries #14: Tales from a Not-So-Best Friend Forever by Rachel Renee Russell (Coming in October).  In the next book in the Dork Diaries series, Nikki and the band look forward to their summer on tour as openers for famous band Bad Boyz. What will Nikki do when she discovers that her frenemy MacKenzie Hollister is the new social media intern, and even worse, Nikki’s new roommate? Will she be able to turn the summer from something awful to awesome?